A Leader is A Servant

I love the word leader. I used to be one of those from Grade School until now in our classroom and in Church. Being a leader is having a life of challenges and enjoyment, it gives you burden, sense of responsibility and authority in every command.

Yet did you know that the word “Leader” only appears six times in entire Bible while the word “Servant” mentioned 995 times? It indicates that servant is more notable in God’s Word, far from our perception today that if you are a servant, you’re a loser, no credibility, an average, a nobody.

But Jesus cherished servanthood more than leadership. In fact He came here not to be serve but to serve and to give his life as a ransom for many. At first I didn’t know why Jesus took off His lordship or why God the Father allows Him to hang on the cross? Why He allowed Himself to be insulted and mocked by the oppressors? I was like Peter who doesn’t know why Jesus needs to wash my feet that I walked through the dusty roads of Israel with an open sandals.

Jesus’ works signified bondages, a bond to a master and to the servant, that’s why He insists to Peter “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.” Jesus humbled Himself on earth so we could have part with Him. So we could serve as He did, so we realized that the One Who is higher than us set an example to be least.

Pastor Barnabas Sajja of India wrote, “As I traveled in the work of the Lord, I sought God about my future ministry, and He asked me, What is your desire? I want to be like David, I said, who ruled the Israelites according to Your will.

But son, what if that is not My will? If that is not your will for me, then I want to be like Jonathan, who was a friend of David, and saved his life. And so he traveled farther, and again God asked me, What is your desire? I want to be like Peter, I said A pillar in Your Church, to lead the multitudes to You.

But son, what if that is not My will? If that is not Your will for me, then I want to be like Andrew, who recognized You goodness, and led his brother to You. And so we traveled farther, and again God asked me, What is your desire? I want to be like Paul, I said, who started many churches across the land.

But son, what if that is not My will? If that is not Your will for me, then I want to be like Barnabas, who gave his right hand to aid Paul in his ministry. Then God said to me, You have chosen well son, for without Jonathan, there will be no David; and without Andrew, there will be no Peter, and without Barnabas there will be no Paul.

This is what My Church needs today; if I had more Jonathans, I would have more Davids; If I had more andrews, I would have more Peters, if I had more Barnabas, I would have more Pauls.”

There will be no leader without servant. As Jesus encouraged us, “whosoever of you will be the chiefest, shall be servant of all.” (Mark 10:44 KJB)

Leave a Reply

